FacebookTwitterLinkedIn

How to Delete Discord Account

How to Delete a Discord Account on Windows 11

If you’ve been using Discord and decided it’s not for you and want to delete your Discord account, but don’t know how, the instructions below will guide you through the process.

Delete Discord Account

How Long Does it Take to Delete a Discord Account?

After clicking the delete button, it takes 14 days to delete your Discord account because Discord has to remove everything related to your account on their end. The account isn’t instantly deleted to give you time to recover it if you change your mind.

If you try to log into your account during the 14-day turn-around period, you’ll get a message saying that the account has been scheduled for deletion.

Note that all of your messages will remain visible to other users after you delete the account, and your user name will be labeled as “Deleted User.” Therefore, if you don’t want your messages to remain, you must delete them manually before deleting your account.

If you only want to take a break from Discord, instead of deleting it, you can disable it. Therefore, we’ve also included a guide on how to disable a Discord account.

Video Guide on How to Delete/Disable a Discord Account

Table of Contents:

How to Delete a Discord Account

If you have decided to delete your Discord account, follow the instructions below. However, before deleting your account, you must transfer your server(s) ownership to another user or delete it.

Open Discord User Settings

1. Open Discord and click User Settings (gear icon) in the lower-left corner of Discord’s window.

In the My Account panel, click Delete Account

2. In the My Account panel, scroll down and click Delete Account under the Account Removal section.

Click Okay

3. If you own any servers, you will be prompted with a message saying: You Own Servers! In order to delete or disable your account you must first transfer ownership of all servers that you own. Click Okay.

Select your Discord server and open the drop-down-menu next to its name

4. Select your server and open the drop-down menu next to the server name.

Select Server Settings

5. Select Server Settings.

Select Members, click the three vertical dots next to a user's name and click select Transfer Ownership

6. Scroll down, and under User Management, select Members.

7. Choose a user to transfer your server’s ownership to and click the three vertical dots next to their user name.

8. Select Transfer Ownership.

Toggle the slider and click Transfer Ownership

9. Toggle the slider and click Transfer Ownership.

Select Server Settings

10. Alternatively, you can delete the server(s). Open the drop-down menu next to the server name and click Server Settings.

Click Delete Server

11. In the left pane, scroll to the bottom and click Delete Server.

Type in the server name and click Delete Server

12. Type in the server name when prompted and click Delete Server.

Open User Settings after removing servers

13. Click User Settings to return to the My Account panel.

In the My Account panel, click Delete Account

14. Click Delete Account.

Type in your Discord password and click Delete Account

15. Enter your password and click Delete Account. The removal of your account will be initiated. You will still be able to recover your account within 14 days of clicking Delete Account.

16. To recover your account before the 14-day turn-around period is up, open Discord.

Enter your Discord login credentials and click Log In

17. Enter your login credentials and click Log In.

Click Restore Account

18. Click Restore Account.

If you delete your Discord account, you have 14 days to recover it. If you don’t recover it within 14 days of deleting it, you’ll never be able to recover it. Alternatively, you can opt to disable your Discord account instead.

[Back to Table of Contents]

How to Disable a Discord Account

If you rather not delete your account but want to take a break from Discord, disabling your account is the better choice.

Open Discord User Settings

1. Open Discord and click User Settings (gear icon) in the lower-left corner of Discord’s window.

In the My Account panel, click Disable Account

2. In the My Account panel, scroll down and click Disable Account under the Account Removal section.

Click Okay

3. If you own any servers, you will be prompted with a message saying: You Own Servers! In order to delete or disable your account you must first transfer ownership of all servers that you own. Click Okay.

Select your Discord server and open the drop-down menu next to its name

4. Select your server and open the drop-down menu next to the server name.

Select Server Settings

5. Select Server Settings.

Select Members, click the three vertical dots next to a user's name and click Transfer Ownership

6. Scroll down, and under User Management, select Members.

7. Choose a user to transfer your server’s ownership to and click the three vertical dots next to their user name.

8. Select Transfer Ownership.

Toggle the slider and click Transfer Ownership

9. Toggle the slider and click Transfer Ownership.

Select Server Settings

10. Alternatively, you can delete the server(s). Open the drop-down menu next to the server name and click Server Settings.

Click Delete Server

11. In the left pane, scroll to the bottom and click Delete Server.

Type in the server name and click Delete Server

12. Type in the server name when prompted and click Delete Server.

Open Discord User Settings after removing servers

13. Click User Settings to return to the My Account panel.

In the My Account panel, click Disable Account

14. Click Disable Account.

15. Enter your password and click Disable Account.

16. To recover your account, open Discord.

Enter your Discord login credentials and click Log In

17. Enter your login credentials and click Log In.

Click Restore Account

18. Click Restore Account.

Did you find this article helpful? Leave your thoughts and suggestions in the comments below.

[Back to Top]

▼ Show Discussion

About the author:

Rimvydas Iliavicius

Rimvydas is a researcher with over four years of experience in the cybersecurity industry. He attended Kaunas University of Technology and graduated with a Master's degree in Translation and Localization of Technical texts. His interests in computers and technology led him to become a versatile author in the IT industry. At PCrisk, he's responsible for writing in-depth how-to articles for Microsoft Windows. Contact Rimvydas Iliavicius.

Our guides are free. However, if you want to support us you can send us a donation.

About PCrisk

PCrisk logo

PCrisk is a cyber security portal, informing Internet users about the latest digital threats. Our content is provided by security experts and professional malware researchers. Read more about us.

Malware activity

Global malware activity level today:

Medium threat activity

Increased attack rate of infections detected within the last 24 hours.